Queen’s Scout Award

Since their launch in December 2013, the Queen’s Scout Award requirements and supporting materials have been reviewed and a number of minor amends have been made. These requirements apply to anyone starting working towards their Queen’s Scout Award from 1st January 2014, and anyone who will complete their Award after 1st September 2015.

To gain the award you must complete all of the following requirements before your 25th birthday.


Award participants must:
• Be aged between 16 and 25 years old
• Be a member of Explorer Scouts or Scout Network (or both) for at least 18 months
• Be a member of Explorer Scouts or Scout Network at the time you complete the award



Complete 18 nights away with Scouting, of which 12 must be camping.



Complete six activities, two from each topic area.  Click here to view the IEV list.

If you have the Chief Scout’s Platinum Award you should complete four further activities, and if you have the Chief Scout’s Diamond Award you should complete another two. These should be different from the ones already completed for the other awards.


Complete the five Queen’s Scout Award challenges or hold the Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE).
•    Skill
Take up a skill for 6 or 12* months, and show progress and lasting interest. The skill can be an existing interest or something entirely new.

•    Physical Activity
Take up a physical activity for 6 or 12* months, completing an agreed programme by taking part and achieving your objectives.

•    Service
Provide service to an individual or the community for 12 months. Briefing and training should be given in order to gain the necessary skills. This may include helping with another section of the movement as an Explorer Scout Young Leader or adult volunteer.

•    Expedition
Training framework:
Show that you are competent in the following areas:

– First aid and emergency procedures
– Risk assessment/health and safety
– Navigation and route planning
– Camp craft, equipment and hygiene
– Food and cooking
– Country, highway and water sports codes
– Observation, recording and presentation
– Team building
– Proficiency in mode of travel

Undertake a minimum of 3 days and 2 nights (consecutive) expedition in wild country by foot, cycle, horse, canoe, boat or dinghy.

Undertake a 4-day and 3-night (consecutive) qualifying expedition with an aim in wild country by the method used in your practice.

•    Residential
Undertake a 5 day and 4 night residential project in an unfamiliar environment where the majority of people are not known to you. This project could be environmental work, activity based, service to others or personal training. In exceptional circumstances, the residential can be done on 2 occasions, as long as the same activity is completed.

*All members should complete 12 months in either the skill or the physical activity challenges.

Award participants who are not holders of a Chief Scout’s Diamond Award or Silver DofE must complete an extra 6 months in either the service or the longer of the skills or physical recreation challenges.



Make a presentation covering all elements of your award to a suitable audience, with the aim of inspiring and motivating others to achieve the award. The presentation should be the final activity you complete.


Once you have completed all of the above requirements, your commissioner needs to approve the award.